Office of the President header


    About Us




    contact us


Minority Achievement Award

Minority Achievement Award Photo

The Presidentís Commission on Ethnic Minority Issues established Minority Achievement Awards to recognize faculty, staff, students, and individual units that have made outstanding contributions to the Universityís equity efforts. The awards also recognize those who have worked to improve the racial climate on the College Park Campus. Each year PCEMI presents these awards to individuals in each of several categories: (1) faculty, (2) exempt employees, (3) non-exempt employees, (4) undergraduate students, and (5) graduate students. Instructional and non-instructional units are also recognized. Nominees should be individuals or units that have made substantial contributions to the Universityís goal of creating an institution of excellence through diversity.


The Presidentís Commission on Ethnic Minority Issues is now accepting nominations for the 2015 Ethnic Minority Achievement Awards. Nominations are due by Friday, April 24.

The annual Presidentís Commission on Ethnic Minority Issues awards ceremony will take place on Friday, May 15 from 3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. in the Grand Ball Room Lounge, Stamp Student Union. We appreciate your nominations!

James McShay
Chair of the PCEMI
Associate Director
Adele H. Stamp Student Union and Multicultural Advocacy Programs

Chen Li
Graduate Assistant, Office of the President


Click on a year below to see more information on past award winners.

2009 Award Winners

2007 Award Winners

2006 Award Winners

2005 Award Winners

2004 Award Winners

2003 Award Winners

2002 Award Winners


Office of the President | University of Maryland | 301.405.5803
Main Administration Building, College Park, MD 20742-5025
Designed and maintained by The Office of Diversity Education and Compliance
Comments and questions may be directed to Chen Li