Header image  

December 6, 2012

President Appoints Commission on UMD and Big Ten/CIC Integration

Dear University of Maryland community:

On July 1, 2014, the University of Maryland will become a member the Big Ten Conference. On July 1, 2013, we will become a member of the academic consortium of Big Ten universities, known as the Committee for Institutional Cooperation (CIC).

This is more than a change in athletic conference. It is an institution-wide integration with the Big Ten and the CIC. To prepare for it, I am announcing the "President's Commission on UMD and Big Ten/CIC Integration."

The charge to the Commission is to plan strategically and advise me on how we can maximize the advantages of membership in the Big Ten and the CIC to advance our University's excellence in the areas of (1) athletics; (2) education, research, and innovation; (3) finance and business administration; and (4) communications, fundraising, and marketing.

The Commission will be guided by the commitment of the University and Intercollegiate Athletics (ICA) to the success of our student-athletes so that (a) they are well supported to succeed in their studies and career after graduation, and (b) they and every sponsored team have the resources to compete successfully in the Big Ten and nationally.

To accomplish its work, the Commission will review the operations and finances of ICA, which is a self-supporting enterprise. It will also review the teams eliminated last year due to budget deficits, and recommend which ones should be reinstated, and on what timeline. Given anticipated revenues from the Big Ten, I ask for a plan to ensure the financial health of Maryland Athletics for at least the next two decades.

The Commission will articulate values and principles that will guide the University in allocating some of the Big Ten revenues to support our academic mission and student financial aid.

The Commission will examine the current ICA fundraising organization. It will recommend how to elevate ICA development efforts to better support our student-athletes. It will consider how we can use the Big Ten Network to tell the University of Maryland story, in academics and in athletics, to the more than 70 million households in the U.S. and abroad.

The CIC is like a "super-university." The Commission will review and make recommendations on opportunities for education, research, and administrative efficiencies.

Examples of CIC opportunities include: shared library resources and digitization of library holdings; study abroad programs, summer research opportunities, and shared online courses for undergraduate students; traveling scholar programs for graduate students; leadership programs for faculty and professional staff; collaborative research projects; a high-speed network among CIC institutions; and group purchases of goods and services to reduce costs.

The Commission is to perform its work as consultatively as possible. It may create working groups, and add some non-Commission members to these groups, as it deems necessary. It may hold open hearings to benefit from broad input.

I ask that the Commission submit its report and recommendations to my office by June 30, 2013. If appropriate, progress reports and recommendations can be submitted. These reports will be made public.

The 22 members of the Commission are listed below. They are leaders of our various constituencies: UMCP Foundation trustees; University Senate; Student Government Association; Athletic Council; Alumni Association; Student Athlete Advisory Council; Terrapin Club; M-Club; faculty, staff, and alumni; and university and college administrators.

The Commission members are devoted representatives of the University of Maryland family. I thank them in advance for their valued service.

And to all, I express my heartfelt appreciation for your support of the University of Maryland.

Wallace D. Loh
University of Maryland

President's Commission on UMD and Big Ten/CIC Integration

Mr. Barry P. Gossett
Principal, Gossett Group

Dr. Linda M. Clement
Vice President for Student Affairs

Ms. Marjorie Baker
President, M-Club

Mr. Robert (Bob) A. Bedingfield
Partner, Ernst & Young LLP

Mr. David Colón-Cabrera
President, Graduate Student Government

Dr. Nicholas J. Hadley
Professor of Physics and Faculty Athletic Representative; Chair, Athletic Council

Mr. Clifford M. Kendall
Chairman, VSE Corporation

Mr. Kerry McCoy
Head Coach, Wrestling

Dr. Darryll Pines
Professor and Dean, A. James Clark School of Engineering

Mr. Colin Potts
President, Terrapin Club

Mr. Marvin H. Rabovsky
Chair, Executive Committee, UMCP Foundation Board of Trustees
President, Alliant Staffing

Dr. Mary Ann Rankin
Professor and Senior Vice President and Provost

Ms. Cathy Reese
Head Coach, Women's Lacrosse

Ms. Anna Roth
President, Student Athlete Advisory Council

Ms. Timmy F. Ruppersberger
President, University of Maryland Alumni Association Board of Governors

Mr. Harvey L. Sanders
Immediate Past Chair, University of Maryland College Park Foundation Board of Trustees

Dr. Martha Nell Smith
Professor of English and Chair, University Senate

Mr. Robert M. Specter
Vice President for Administration & Finance and CFO

Dr. Stephen B. Thomas
Professor, School of Public Health and Director, Maryland Center for Health Equity

Dr. Bonnie Thornton Dill
Professor and Dean, College of Arts and Humanities

Ms. Tracye Turner
Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Optimal Solutions Group, LLC

Mr. Peter B. Weiler
Vice President for University Relations

Ms. Samantha Zwerling
President, Student Government Association

Mr. Kevin Anderson
Director of Athletics

Ms. Michele A. Eastman
Assistant President and Chief of Staff

Mr. Terry Roach, Esq.
Chief Counsel, University of Maryland

Mr. Brian Ullmann
Assistant Vice President for Marketing and Communications